INSIDE

Induced seismicity and ground deformation as interference aspects in the operation of geothermal plants in the South German Molasse
Seismic SurveySWM

In 2019, the extensive BMWi project INSIDE was acquired as part of the "7th Energy Research Programme of the Federal Government - Innovations for the Energy Turnaround". INSIDE stands for "Induced Seismicity & Ground Deformation as Interference Aspects in the Operation of Geothermal Plants in the Molasse of Southern Germany". The project addresses investigations for an improved process understanding in the deep subsurface and measures for risk minimization. The project partners are Stadtwerke München (SWM Services GmbH) and Innovative Energie für Pullach GmbH - IEP.

The lack of process understanding of seismicity and ground deformation in the subsurface is a challenge that the geothermal sector currently has to face in order to implement effective monitoring and risk-minimized operation management. The INSIDE project aims to close this understanding gap and derive risk-minimizing measures from it.

The further development and expansion of active and passive monitoring for the continuous recording of seismicity and ground motions is a main aspect of the project. To this end, a measurement concept is to be developed and a measurement network expanded that goes beyond the current standard of data collection.

The acquisition of these data involves the management of large amounts of data with different levels of access and therefore requires the design of a data management system (Big Data Engineering).

The results of the acquisition and interpretation of this data will be of further value for geomechanical reservoir modelling. Another focus of the project is therefore the further development and implementation of innovative numerical models for the description and prediction of induced seismicity and ground uplift/subsidence in an urban environment.

The project results will enable real-time integration of measurement data and modelling results into the operational processes of a geothermal project and will be integrated into a reservoir management system (RMS) to minimise risks and optimise operational concepts.

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

INSIDE

Induzierte Seismizität & Bodendeformation als Interferenzaspekte beim Betrieb von Geothermieanlagen in der süddeutschen Molasse
Seismic SurveySWM

Im Jahr 2019 wurde das umfangreiche BMWi-Projekt INSIDE im Rahmen des „7. Energieforschungsprogramms der Bundesregierung - Innovationen für die Energiewende“ eingeworben. INSIDE steht für „Induzierte Seismizität & Bodendeformation als Interferenzaspekte beim Betrieb von Geothermieanlagen in der süddeutschen Molasse“. Das Projekt addressiert Untersuchungen zu einem verbesserten Prozessverständnis im tiefen Untergrund und Maßnahmen zur Risikominimierung. Projektpartner sind die Stadtwerke München (SWM Services GmbH) und die Innovative Energie für Pullach GmbH – IEP. 

Das bisher fehlende Prozessverständnis zu Seismizität und Bodendeformation im Untergrund ist eine Herausforderung, der sich die Geothermie-Branche aktuell stellen muss, um effektive Beobachtungen und ein risikominimiertes Betriebsmanagement umsetzen zu können. Das INSIDE-Projekt zielt darauf ab, diese Verständnislücke zu schließen und risikominimierende Maßnahmen daraus abzuleiten. 

Die Weiterentwicklung und der Ausbau des aktiven und passiven Monitorings zur kontinuierlichen Erfassung der Seismizität und von Bodenbewegungen ist ein Hauptaspekt des Projekts. Dazu soll ein Messkonzept entwickelt und ein Messnetz ausgebaut werden, das über den derzeitigen Standard der Datenerhebung hinausgeht.

Die Erfassung dieser Daten beinhaltet die Verwaltung großer Datenmengen mit verschiedenen Zugriffsebenen und erfordert daher die Konzeption eines Datenverwaltungssystems (Big Data Engineering).

Die Ergebnisse der Erfassung und Interpretation dieses Datenmaterials sind weiterführend von großem Wert für geomechanische Reservoirmodellierungen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des Projekts ist daher die Weiterentwicklung und Implementierung innovativer numerischer Modelle zur Beschreibung und Prognose von induzierter Seismizität und Bodenhebungen/-senkungen in einem urbanen Umfeld. 

Die Projektergebnisse sollen eine Echtzeitintegration von Messdaten und Modellierungsergebnissen in die betrieblichen Abläufe eines Geothermieprojekts ermöglichen und in ein Reservoir-Management-System (RMS) integriert werden, um Risiken zu minimieren und Betriebskonzepte zu optimieren.