Spokesmen of the Geothermal Energy Working Group

The interests of the working group are represented within the DGG by a spokesperson. The spokesperson is invited as a guest to the board meetings of the DGG, reports on the activities of the working group at the DGG general meeting, takes care of regular meetings and coordinates all other activities. The spokesperson of the Geothermal Working Group was elected for the first time at the constituent meeting of the Working Group in autumn 2015. The term of office is two years, re-election is possible twice. The speaker's group supports the speaker in his work.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Kohl is a professor at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, KIT. He holds the Chair of Geothermal Energy and Reservoir Technology at the Institute of Applied Geosciences and is head of the Subtopics Geoenergy of the KIT Helmholtz Renewable Energy Program. Since 2017, he is speaker of the Geothermal Working Group of the German Geophysical Society.

Speakers' Circle:

  • Dr. Sven Fuchs is a scientist at the Geothermal Energy Systems Section of the German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ), Helmholtz Centre Potsdam. His research interests focus on the Earth's temperature and heat flow field in the lithosphere. This includes a detailed understanding of terrestrial heat flow and associated rock heat properties such as thermal conductivity, thermal diffusivity and specific heat capacity, as well as radiogenic heat generation in the crust.
  • Dr. Hartwig von Hartmann is a staff member at the Leibniz Institute for Applied Geophysics in Hannover and responsible for third-party funded projects in the field of geothermal energy with focus on seismic exploration. Previously, he gained experience as an independent consultant, as a research associate and assistant at the Institute of Geophysics at the Technical University of Clausthal, and as a research associate at the Lower Saxony State Office for Soil Research.
  • Prof. Dr. Bodo Lehmann can draw on more than 30 years of professional experience at the engineering services provider DMT GmbH & Co KG. He is currently jointly responsible for geoservices, including being head of "Exploration and Engineering Geophysics" and managing director of DMT Petrologic. After studying at the WWU Münster and gaining his doctorate at the Ruhr University in Bochum, he completed his habilitation at the Montan University in Leoben in the field of seismic tomography.
  • Dr. Isabelle Symank is a geophysicist in the Engineering Geology/Rock Construction group of the Institute of Geology, Mineralogy and Geophysics at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Prior to her PhD she completed her Joint Master in "Applied Geophysics" at TU Delft, ETH Zurich, and RWTH Aachen (IDEA League), as well as by a Master thesis at DEA Deutsche Erdöl AG.

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

Sprecher und Sprecherkreis des Arbeitskreises Geothermie

Die Interessen des Arbeitskreises werden innerhalb der DGG von einer Sprecherin bzw. einem Sprecher vertreten. Diese/r wird als Gast zu den Vorstandssitzungen der DGG geladen, berichtet auf der DGG-Mitgliederversammlung über die Aktivitäten des Arbeitskreises, kümmert sich um regelmäßige Treffen und koordiniert alle weiteren Aktivitäten. Die Sprecherin bzw. der Sprecher des Arbeitskreises Geothermie wird auf der konstituierenden Sitzung des Arbeitskreises im Herbst 2015 erstmalig gewählt. Die Amtszeit beträgt zwei Jahre, eine Wiederwahl ist zweimal möglich. Der Sprecherkreis unterstützt den Sprecher in der inhaltlichen Arbeit.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Kohl ist Professor am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, KIT. Er ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie am Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften und Leiter des Subtopics Geoenergie des Helmholtz-Programms Erneuerbare Energien des KIT. Seit 2017 ist er Sprecher des Arbeitskreises Geothermie der Deutschen Geophysikalischen Gesellschaft.

Sprecherkreis:

  • Dr. Sven Fuchs ist Wissenschaftler an der Sektion Geothermische Energiesysteme des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Geowissenschaften (GFZ), Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam. Seine Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf die Temperatur und das Wärmestromfeld der Erde im Lithosphärenbereich. Dazu gehört ein detailliertes Verständnis des terrestrischen Wärmestroms und der damit verbundenen Gesteinswärmeeigenschaften wie Wärmeleitfähigkeit, Temperaturleitfähigkeit und spezifische Wärmekapazität sowie die radiogene Wärmeentwicklung in der Kruste.
  • Dr. Hartwig von Hartmann ist Mitarbeiter am Leibniz-Institut für Angewandte Geophysik in Hannover und verantwortlich für Drittmittelprojekte im Bereich der Geothermie mit dem Schwerpunkt : Seismische Exploration. Zuvor hat er Erfahrungen als selbständiger Consultant, als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Assistent am Institut für Geophysik der TU Clausthal, sowie als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Niedersächsischen Landesamt für Bodenforschung gesammelt.
  • Prof. Dr. Bodo Lehmann kann auf mehr als 30 Jahren Berufspraxis beim Ingenieurdienstleister DMT GmbH & Co. KG zurückgreifen. Derzeit ist er mitverantwortlich für die Geo-Dienstleistungen, wobei er u.a. Leiter der „Explorations- und Ingenieurgeophysik“ und Geschäftsführer der DMT Petrologic ist. Nach dem Studium an der WWU Münster und der Promotion an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, habilitierte er an der MontanUniversität in Leoben auf dem Gebiet der seismischen Tomographie.
  • Dr. Isabelle Symank ist Geophysikerin in der Arbeitsgruppe Ingenieurgeologie/Felsbau des Instituts für Geologie, Mineralogie und Geophysik der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Vor ihrer Doktorandenzeit hat sie ihren Joint Master in "Applied Geophysics" an der TU Delft, ETH Zürich, und RWTH Aachen (IDEA League), sowie durch eine Masterarbeit bei DEA Deutsche Erdöl AG abgeschlossen.