BrineMine

A BMBF project of Chilean and German partners to develop a geothermal system for mineral extraction, provision of drinking water and heat generation.
Sebastian Held nimmt geophysikalische Messungen in Chile vor.KIT

Chile's geothermal potential is well known and has been documented by the commissioning of the first geothermal power plant - Cerro Pabellon - in Chile. In addition to the energetic potential, the extracted thermal waters sometimes also have high contents of elements such as lithium, rubidium or antimony, which are of great importance for energy technology and the high-tech sector and have been classified as critical raw materials. In recent years, the salt lakes in the Atacama Desert in Chile have developed into an important resource for lithium extraction. Here, the mining of raw materials is accompanied by considerable environmental interventions as well as a high demand for water, which offers a high potential for conflict, especially in the driest desert on earth.

The German-Chilean project BrineMine pursues the approach of extracting raw materials from geothermal waters. With the help of membrane technology, the heat of the water is to be used to separate the mineral raw materials and the water from each other in a closed system by means of a technical process. The aim is to obtain not only minerals but also drinking water as an important resource. Compared to conventional evaporation processes, the membrane processes accelerate the concentration of the waters. In this way, a raw material-efficient and sustainable alternative to conventional Li mining is demonstrated.

In a first step, a pilot plant will be developed in Germany, where the extraction will be tested in the laboratory with artificial and real brines. One focus is on the pre-treatment of the saline waters to prevent mineral deposits within the membrane modules. Uncontrolled precipitation of silicates, which are often close to saturation in geothermal waters, can limit the productivity of the plant. Targeted precipitation ensures the processability of the fluid and further offers the possibility to produce the precipitated silicate itself as a sought-after raw material. In parallel, a sampling campaign in northern Chile will serve to estimate the raw material potential of the geothermal waters and to select an ideal location for raw material extraction. In a final step, the developed pilot plant will be transferred to Chile and installed there.

Project partner

  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems
  • CEGA (Andean Geothermal Center of Excellence)
  • SolarSpring GmbH
  • Geothermie Neubrandenburg GmbH (GTN)
  • GTN Latin America
  • Fraunhofer Chile - Center for Solar Energy Technology (CSET)
  • Transmark
BrineMine-Logo
BrineMine logo by Jonas Rougoor
Valentin Goldberg
Contact

Valentin Goldberg
Geothermal Energy and Reservoir Technology

Research Asccociate

Project BrineMine

valentin goldberg does-not-exist.kit edu

Feldarbeit in Chile Max Pavez
Scientific milestones and economic potential

The potential of raw material extraction from thermal brines – Successful milestones of the BrineMine project 

Goldberg et al., 2021: Oil Gas (1)

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

BrineMine

Ein BMBF-Projekt chilenischer und deutscher Partner zur Entwicklung eines geothermischen Systems zur Mineralextraktion, Bereitstellung von Trinkwasser und Wärmegewinnung.
Sebastian Held nimmt geophysikalische Messungen in Chile vor.KIT

Chiles geothermisches Potenzial ist hinlänglich bekannt und konnte durch Inbetriebnahme des ersten geothermischen Kraftwerks - Cerro Pabellon – in Chile dokumentiert werden. Neben dem energetischen Potenzial besitzen die geförderten Thermalwässer mitunter auch hohe Gehalte an Elementen wie Lithium, Rubidium oder Antimon, welche für die Energietechnologie und die High-Tech Branche von großer Bedeutung sind und als kritische Rohstoffe eingestuft wurden. Für die Lithiumgewinnung haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren die Salzseen in der Atacamawüste in Chile zu einer wichtigen Ressource entwickelt. Hier geht der Rohstoffabbau mit erheblichen Umwelteingriffen, sowie einem hohen Wasserbedarf einher, was gerade in der trockensten Wüste der Erde ein hohes Konfliktpotential bietet.

Das deutsch-chilenische Projekt BrineMine verfolgt den Ansatz Rohstoffe aus geothermischen Wässern zu gewinnen. Mit Hilfe von Membrantechnologie soll die Wärme des Wassers verwendet werden, um in einem geschlossenen System, die mineralischen Rohstoffe und das Wasser durch einen technischen Prozess voneinander zu trennen. Ziel ist es so neben den Mineralen auch Trinkwasser als wichtige Ressource zu gewinnen. Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Evaporationsverfahren beschleunigen die Membranverfahren die Aufkonzentration der Wässer, sodass eine rohstoffeffiziente und nachhaltige Alternative zum konventionellen Li-Bergbau aufgezeigt wird.

Dafür wird in einem ersten Schritt eine Pilotanlage in Deutschland entwickelt, an welcher die Extraktion im Labor mit künstlichen und realen Solen getestet wird. Ein Augenmerk liegt hierbei auf der Vorbehandlung der salinen Wässer um Mineralablagerungen innerhalb der Membranmodule zu verhindern. Unkontrollierten Ausfällungen von Silikaten, welche in geothermalen Wässern häufig nahe der Sättigung sind, können die Produktivität der Anlage einschränken. Ein gezieltes Ausfällen gewährt die Prozessierbarkeit des Fluids und bietet weiterhin die Möglichkeit, das gefällte Silikat selbst als gefragten Rohstoff zu produzieren. Parallel dazu dient eine Probenahmekampagne im Norden Chiles der Abschätzung des Rohstoffpotentials der geothermalen Wässer und Auswahl eines idealen Standortes zur Rohstoffextraktion. In einem letzten Schritt soll die entwickelte Pilotanlage nach Chile überführt und dort installiert werden.

Logos der BrineMine-Partner

Projektpartner:

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (ISE)
  • CEGA (Exzellenzzentrum für Geothermie in den Anden)
  • SolarSpring GmbH
  • Geothermie Neubrandenburg GmbH (GTN)
  • GTN Latin America
  • Fraunhofer Chile - Zentrum für Solare Energietechnologien (CSET)
  • Transmark
Valentin Goldberg
Ansprechpartner

Valentin Goldberg, M.Sc.
Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Projektdurchführung BrineMine

valentin goldbergOcg8∂kit edu