F4aT - Hydraulics laboratory

"Forced Fracture Fluid Flow and Transport"
Teststand
Test stand
F4aT-Diagramm
Normalized volumetric flow rate vs. Reynolds number

The fluid dynamics of hot fluids in fractured rock reservoirs play a central role in the exploitation of geothermal resources. The F4aT laboratory, which is funded by the DFG, was set up to clarify central, still unresolved questions regarding hydraulics, transport and the impact on fluid chemistry - especially for flows with high Reynolds numbers.

The F4aT - laboratory allows to perform flow experiments on rough fracture surfaces under geothermal typical high flow rates, which can lead to non-laminar, turbulence-like flows with Re >>100 (the critical Re for the consideration of non-linear conditions is often described with Re > 10). The aim is to identify experimentally at laboratory scale the sensitive parameters in the coupled system (flow rate, pressure, Reynolds number, aperture, shear offset, shear direction, roughness, etc.) and to quantify their influence on the flow conditions. The main research questions range from investigating the validity ranges of different flow laws, parameterization of constitutive flow laws and numerical models, identification of the relationships between roughness and hydraulics, to investigating the influence of channeling processes on the transport of heat and solutes.

The experimental setup consists of a 3D scanner, a 3D printer, a thermal conductivity meter and the hydraulic test rig. Thus it is possible to measure the surfaces of natural rock samples by means of a scanner. These data serve as the basis for quantifying the roughness parameters and for producing the fracture sample by means of a 3D printer, which is then used to carry out the hydraulic tests. High accuracy pressure, flow and temperature sensors allow quantification of the hydraulic system or temperature transport properties of the sample. High-speed cameras allow the measurement and detection of turbulence, which can also be visualized by adding tracers using a bypass system.

This experimental setup puts us in the unique position to quantify hydraulics on rough fractures probabilistically on the experimental side, which was previously only possible using numerical models.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Robert Egert

Dr. Fabian Nitschke

F4aT – Hydrauliklabor

"Forced Fracture Fluid Flow and Transport"
Teststand
Teststand
Volumenstrom (normiert) in Abhängigkeit von der Reynolds-Zahl
Volumenstrom (normiert) in Abhängigkeit von der Reynolds-Zahl

Der Strömungsdynamik heißer Fluide in geklüfteten Gesteinsreservoiren kommt bei der Nutzung geothermischer Ressourcen eine zentrale Rolle zu. Zur Klärung zentraler, nach wie vor ungelöster Fragen hinsichtlich Hydraulik, Transport und Auswirkung auf die Fluidchemie - insbesondere bei Strömungen mit hohen Reynoldszahlen -  wurde das von der DFG geförderte F4aT-Labor aufgebaut.

Das F4aT-Labor ermöglicht die Durchführung von Strömungsversuchen auf rauen Kluftoberflächen unter geothermietypischen hohe Fließraten, welche zu nicht-laminarem, turbulenz-ähnlichem Strömungen mit Re >>100 (die kritische Re für die Berücksichtigung nichtlinearer Bedingungen wird oftmals mit Re > 10 beschrieben) führen können. Ziel ist es, experimentell im Labormaßstab die sensitiven Parameter im gekoppelten System (Fließrate, Druck, Reynoldszahl, Apertur, Scherversatz, Scherrichtung, Rauigkeit, etc.) zu identifizieren und deren Einfluss auf die Strömungsbedingungen zu quantifizieren. Die wichtigsten Forschungsfragen reichen von der Untersuchung der Gültigkeitsbereiche verschiedener Fließgesetze, der Parametrisierung von konstitutiven Fließgesetzen und numerischen Modellen, Identifizierung der Zusammenhänge von Rauigkeit und Hydraulik bis hin zur Untersuchung des Einflusses von Channelingprozessen auf den Transport von Wärme und gelösten Stoffen.

Der Versuchsaufbau besteht aus einem 3D-Scanner, einem 3D-Drucker, einem Wärmeleitfähigkeitsmessgerät und dem hydraulischen Versuchstand. So ist es möglich mittels Scanner die Oberflächen natürlicher Gesteinsproben zu messen. Diese Daten dienen als Grundlage zur Quantifizierung der Rauigkeitsparameter und zur Produktion der Kluftprobe mittels 3D-Drucker, mit der dann die Hydraulikversuche durchgeführt werden. Hochgenaue Druck-, Durchfluss- und Temperatursensoren ermöglichen die Quantifizierung des hydraulischen Systems bzw. der Temperaturtransporteigenschaften der Probe. Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras ermöglichen die Messung und Erfassung von Turbulenzen, die durch die Zugabe von Tracern mittels eines Bypass-Systems auch optisch sichtbar werden.

Dieser Versuchsaufbau versetzt uns in die einzigartige Lage die Hydraulik auf rauen Klüften auf experimenteller Seite probabilistisch zu quantifizieren, was bisher einzig mittels numerischer Modelle möglich war.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Robert Egert

Dr. Fabian Nitschke