Geothermal Energy and Reservoir Technology

Technological developments

Here we present exemplary technological innovations of our department.
Relationship of the most important parameters in boreholes KIT
The pressure transition and the flow rate are non-linear functions depending on the dynamic phase densities and volume ratios. The descreasing pipe bore causes increasing flow velocities creating a differnt flow regime.

Borehole simulator MOSKITO

Boreholes are a central and integral part of any geothermal system. They are subject to dynamic conditions, the processes taking place show a highly non-linear and complex coupled behaviour. For applications in deep geothermal energy, various computer-coded models for borehole simulation have been developed to quantify the complex processes, to develop forecasts and to develop solutions for typical challenges of geothermal operations. However, these are subject to limitations such as the lack of simulation of transient processes.

Against this background, KIT has developed a numerical borehole simulator. MOSKITO is a numerical borehole simulator that implicitly resolves transient, fully coupled, non-isothermal two-phase flows (Gholami Korzani et al., 2019). MOSKITO is embedded in the programming environment MOOSE.

A unique selling point of MOSKITO is the explicit thermal-hydraulic coupling with the surrounding reservoir. For this purpose, MOSKITO was coupled with TIGER, a reservoir simulator for thermal-hydraulic processes in porous media (Gholami Korzani et al., 2019a). MOSKITO has already been used e.g. for the simulation of temperature logs of high-enthalpy boreholes (Wang et al., 2019).

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

Technologische Entwicklungen

Hier stellen wir beispielhaft technologische Innovationen unserer Abteilung vor.
Beziehungen der wichtigsten Variablen in einem Bohrloch KIT
Der Druckübergang und die Fließrate sind nichtlineare Funktionen der Phasendichte und Volumenverhältnisse. Der abnehmende Bohrlochdurchmesser bewirkt steigende Fließgeschwindigkeiten und ein Wechsel des Strömungsregimes.

Bohrlochsimulator MOSKITO

Bohrlöcher sind ein zentraler und integraler Bestandteil eines jeden geothermischen Systems. Sie unterliegen dynamischen Bedingungen, die ablaufenden Prozesse zeigen ein hochgradig nichtlineares und komplex gekoppeltes Verhalten. Für Anwendungen in der Tiefengeothermie wurden verschiedene computercodierte Modelle für die Bohrlochsimulation entwickelt, um die komplexen Prozesse zu quantifizieren, Prognosen zu entwickeln und Lösungen für typische Herausforderungen des geothermischen Betriebs zu entwickeln. Diese unterliegen aber Einschränkungen wie eine fehlende Simulation transienter Prozesse.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das KIT hat den numerischen Bohrlochsimulator MOSKITO entwickelt. MOSKITO ist ein numerischer Bohrloch-Simulator, der implizit transiente, vollständig gekoppelte, nicht-isotherme Zweiphasen-Strömungen löst (Gholami Korzani et al., 2019). MOSKITO ist in die Programmierumgebung MOOSE eingebettet.

Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal von MOSKITO ist die explizite thermisch-hydraulische Kopplung mit dem umgebenden Reservoir. Hierzu wurde MOSKITO im Rahmen von MOOSE mit TIGER gekoppelt, einem Reservoirsimulator für thermisch-hydraulische Prozesse in porösen Medien (Gholami Korzani et al., 2019a). Angewandt wurde MOSKITO u.a. schon bei der Simulation Temperatur-Logs von Hochenthalpie-Bohrungen (Wang et al., 2019).