Geothermal Energy and Reservoir Technology

Geothermal fluids

Geyser on Iceland KIT
Geyser on Iceland

The chemistry of deep geothermal fluids is essentially controlled by the reservoir rock, i.e. by the solubility of its minerals and by fluid inclusions. The reservoir fluid is usually in geochemical equilibrium with the surrounding rock. Above-ground heat extraction and pressure relief during production disturb the system and alter the physical, hydrochemical and thermodynamic parameters of the geothermal water. Subsequent reactions can be mineral precipitations and/or solutions. Furthermore, the typically highly saline geothermal fluids are highly corrosive to the materials used in drilling and production.

The aim of our research is to obtain a better understanding of the chemical changes in the geothermal system during circulation throughout the entire cycle. Geochemical water-rock interactions can cause a change in rock permeability and consequently influence the injectivity of the well and damage parts of the geothermal system such as pipe systems or pumps. Laboratory experiments are used to address these issues. The boundary conditions of these experiments are taken from real conditions in the reservoir and the surface installations of existing geothermal power plants. Complementary numerical modelling with THMC codes is performed to understand and quantify the thermal-hydraulic processes, chemical interactions and mass transport. The modeling codes used are TOUGHREACT, PhreeqC and Elmer.

For a long-term and viable exploitation of a geothermal reservoir, it is necessary to consider in detail the chemical interactions between the injection fluid and the mineral phases of the rock. For a continuous operation of a geothermal plant, it is also necessary to be able to predict and reduce the corrosive processes in the above-ground technical plant components.

Contact persons: Dr. Fabian Nitschke, Dr. Sebastian Held

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

Geothermische Tiefenwässer

Geysir auf Island KIT
Geysir auf Island

Der Chemismus geothermaler Tiefenwässer wird im Wesentlichen durch das Reservoirgestein kontrolliert, d.h. durch die Löslichkeit seiner Minerale sowie durch Fluideinschlüsse. Das Reservoirfluid befindet sich i.d.R. im geochemischen Gleichgewicht mit dem umgebenden Gestein. Durch den obertägigen Wärmentzug und die Druckentlastung während der Förderung wird das System gestört und die physikalischen, hydrochemischen und thermodynamischen Parameter des geothermalen Wassers verändert. Folgereaktionen können Mineralausfällungen und/oder -Lösungen sein. Darüber hinaus sind die typischerweise hochsalinaren geothermischen Fluide stark korrosiv gegenüber den bei Bohrung und Förderung eingesetzten Materialien.

Ziel unserer Forschung ist es ein verbessertes Verständnis der chemischen Veränderungen im geothermalen System während der Zirkulation im gesamten Kreislauf zu erhalten. Geochemische Wasser-Gesteinswechselwirkungen können eine Änderung der Gesteinspermeabilität hervorrufen und folglich die Injektivität der Bohrung beeinflussen und Teile der Geothermieanlage wie Rohrsysteme oder Pumpen beschädigen. Für die Bearbeitung der Fragestellungen werden Laborexperimente genutzt, deren Randbedingungen von realen Verhältnissen im Reservoir und den Übertageinstallationen von bestehenden Geothermiekraftwerken übernommen werden. Komplementär werden numerische Modellierungen mit THMC-Codes durchgeführt, um die thermisch-hydraulischen Prozesse, die chemischen Wechselwirkungen und den Stofftransport nachvollziehen und quantifizieren zu können. Dabei verwendete Modellierungscodes sind TOUGHREACT, PhreeqC und Elmer.

Für eine langfristig ökonomisch und nachhaltige Nutzung eines geothermischen Reservoirs ist es notwendig die chemischen Wechselwirkungen zwischen dem Injektionsfluid und den Mineralphasen des Gesteins detailliert zu betrachten. Für einen kontinuierlichen Betrieb einer geothermischen Anlage gilt es außerdem die korrosiven Prozesse in den obertägigen technischen Anlagenteilen vorhersagen und somit reduzieren zu können.

Kontaktpersonen: Dr. Fabian Nitschke, Dr. Sebastian Held