Geothermal Energy and Reservoir Technology

Geothermal exploration

Field work in Chile KIT
Geochemical exploration in Northern Chile

The construction of a geothermal power plant requires the exploration of the underground geothermal reservoir at an early stage. The resource must be explored using indirect methods. In addition to the location of the underground reservoir, further characteristics such as structure, temperature and geology of the reservoir must be determined. Once the first boreholes have been drilled, further exploration measures of the reservoir are required.

Our working group uses various geophysical methods for exploration:

  • Magnetotelluric measurements to allow statements about fluid movement in the subsurface and the occurrence of impermeable clay formations.
  • The monitoring of induced microseismicity allows the evaluation of the reservoir volume and statements about tectonic stresses in the reservoir.
  • Borehole logging methods allow the calculation and determination of reservoir parameters by indirect access to the reservoir. This allows to develop an understanding of the processes taking place in the reservoir in order to optimize the management of the resource.
  • The interpretation of seismic data sets allows the determination of layer thicknesses and the location of fault zones.
  • Hydraulic tests allow statements about the permeability, the storage capacity and, if necessary, also about the extent and type of the reservoir.

In addition, we use geochemical methods in close cooperation with the AGW Division for Geochemistry to identify processes in the reservoir. Analysis of dissolved fluid components (geothermometry) allows estimatiom of the reservoir temperature and characterization of the water-rock interactions. Reservoir characterization is also supported by isotope analysis.

We carry out our exploration activities in different geological regions. Among others, we are active in rift systems (Upper Rhine Graben), in the granitic basement (Black Forest) and in high-enthalpy regions.

Contact persons: Dr. Sebastian HeldDr. Fabian Nitschke

Abteilung für Geothermie und Reservoir-Technologie

Geothermische Erkundung

Feldarbeit in Chile KIT
Geochemische Erkundung in Nord-Chile

Zur Errichtung eines geothermischen Kraftwerks bedarf es in einer frühen Phase der Exploration des geothermischen Reservoirs im Untergrund. Die Ressource muss mit indirekten Methoden erkundet werden. Neben der Lokation des Reservoirs im Untergrund müssen weitere Charakteristika, wie z.B. Struktur, Temperatur und Geologie des Reservoirs bestimmt werden. Sind erste Bohrungen abgeteuft, stehen weitere Erkundungsmaßnahmen der Lagerstätte an.

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe nutzt verschiedene geophysikalische Verfahren zur Exploration:

  • Magnetotellurische Messungen für Aussagen über die Fluidbewegung im Untergrund sowie das Auftreten undurchlässiger Tonformationen.
  • Das Monitoring induzierter Mikroseismizität ermöglicht die Evaluation des Reservoirvoluments und Aussagen über tektonische Spannungen im Reservoir.
  • Bohrlochlogging Verfahren ermöglichen die Berechnung und Bestimmung von Reservoirkenngrößen durch einen indirekten Zugang zum Reservoir. Dadurch kann ein Verständnis der Prozesse, welche im Reservoir ablaufen, entwickelt werden, um das Management der Ressource zu optimieren.
  • Die Interpretation seismischer Datensätze ermöglicht die Bestimmung von Schichtmächtigkeiten und die Lage von Störungszonen.
  • Hydraulische Tests ermöglichen Aussagen über die Durchlässigkeit, das Speichervermögen und ggf. auch über die Ausdehnung und Art des Reservoirs.

Zusätzlich nutzen wir in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung Geochemie & Lagerstättenkunde geochemische Verfahren, um Parameter zu spezifizieren und Prozesse im Reservoir zu identifizieren. Über gelöste Fluidbestandteile kann auf Temperaturen im Reservoir geschlossen und die Wasser-Gesteins-Wechselwirkung charakterisiert werden (Geothermometrie). Die Reservoircharakterisierung wird zudem durch isotopen-geochemische Analysenunterstützt.

Unsere Explorationstätigkeiten führen wir in unterschiedlichen geologischen Regionen durch. Unter anderem sind wir in Grabensystemen (Oberrheingraben), im granitischen Grundgebirge (Schwarzwald) sowie in Hoch-Enthalpie-Regionen aktiv.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Sebastian Held, Dr. Fabian Nitschke